Date: 24.11.2024

YOUNG MUSICIANS INTRODUCE THEMSELVES

Keresztes Artists and the music schools of the Canton of Zug would like to promote young talents and offer the young musicians of these music schools a stage in the evening's supporting program.

Programme coming soon

Program

OPIUM - Light and shadow of the twenties

The new program Opium by the duo Runge & Ammon reflects the creative, decadent and frivolous time of the 1920s - a time of awakening, turmoil, sensuality, ecstasy, seduction, but also with a premonition of the approaching catastrophe. With music by Korngold, Mahler, Debussy, Bloch, Hindemith and Gershwin, among others. The two artists also arranged the film music for Tom Tykwer's internationally successful TV series "Babylon Berlin" themselves and recorded it for the 2nd, 3rd and 4th seasons. The duo has the exclusive right to perform these pieces.

George Gershwin (1897-1938)

Ein Amerikaner in Paris
(Arr. Jasha Heifetz/Runge & Ammon)

Germaine Tailleferre (1892-1983)

Berceuse
(Arr. Runge&Ammon)

Kurt Weill (1900-1950)

Paraphrase über
Die Moritat von Mackie Messer aus der Dreigroschenoper und
Youkali - Tango Habanera aus der Oper Maria Galante
(Arr. Wolf Kerschek/Runge&Ammon)

Ernest Bloch (1880-1959)

From Jewish Life B.54 für Cello und Klavier
Prayer
Supplication
Jewish Song

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)

Zwei Lieder
Schneeglöckchen op. 9 Nr. 1
Versuchung op. 18 Nr. 3

Paul Hindemith (1895-1963)

Capriccio für Cello und Klavier op.8

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

Blues aus der Violinsonate
(Arr. Runge&Ammon)

Tom Tykwer/Johnny Klimek:

Berlin Babylon - Suite
Allein
Ein Tag wie Gold
(Arr. Runge & Ammon)

Jacob Gadé (1879-1963)

Jalousie - Tango Concertante
(Arr. Runge & Ammon)

Subject to change.


Das Duo Runge & Ammon

which is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, was born out of a shared passion for chamber music that crosses the boundaries of jazz, tango, rock, theater and film music. The two musicians regularly perform in important concert series and festivals as well as in clubs in Europe, Asia, the USA and South America.

In 2019, 2021 and 2022, director Tom Tykwer invited the duo to record the film music for the award-winning TV series BabylonBerlin. From 2024, Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon will be creating their own concert series as 'Artists in Residence' at Konzerthaus Berlin.

Since 2021, the duo has been working exclusively with the Berlin Classics/EDEL label. The first album 'Revolutionary Icons' juxtaposes  works by Beethoven with revolutionary icons of rock-pop history such as Jimi Hendrix, Frank Zappa and David Bowie. 2022 saw the release of 'Baroque in Blue', an album in which jazz and baroque music enter into dialog and was celebrated as a 'real coup' (Concerti). The release of the album 'Opium', which sheds light on the artistically dense period of the 1920s, is planned for 2024.

Eckart Runge, Violoncello

He was the cellist of the Artemis Quartet for thirty years, with whom he performed worldwide and shaped their characteristic profile across all instrumentations. The ensemble's albums, including the complete Beethoven recording, have won the Diapason d'Or and the Grammophone Award several times and the ECH0-Klassik award four times.

In 2019, Eckart Runge decided to go his own artistic way and devote himself to his own artistic projects.

His solo debut album, the first recording of the jazzy Cello Concerto op. 85 by Nikolai Kapustin and the 1st Cello Concerto by Alfred Schnittke with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin was awarded the 'Jahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik' in 2021. Eckart Runge will be presenting and curating various programs as 'Artists in Residence' at BASF Ludwigshafen and the Philharmonic Society Bremen in the coming seasons.

From 2005-23, he passed on his experience as a professor at the Berlin University of the Arts and at the Chapelle de la Reine Elisabeth in Brussels. In 2023 he accepted an appointment as Professor of Chamber Music at the Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf.

Eckart Runge plays a rare cello made by the brothers Hieronymus and Antonio Amati from Cremona in 1595, generously loaned to him by Merito String Instrument Trust Vienna.

Jacques Ammon, Piano

Born in Santiago de Chile to German-Chilean parents, Jacques Ammon first attracted attention in 1989 when he won first prize at the International Claudio Arrau Piano Competition.

In addition to his duo with Eckart Runge, he regularly plays with violinist Daniel Hope. This collaboration has resulted in several albums on the Deutsche Grammophon label.

Jacques Ammon has been Professor of Piano at the Felix - Mendelssohn - Bartholdy Academy of Music and Theater in Leipzig since 2015.

Konzert: 24.11.2024

Young Musicians stellen sich vor

Keresztes Artists und die Musikschulen des Kanton Zug möchten junge Talente fördern und bieten den jungen Musikerinnen und Musikern dieser Musikschulen im Vorprogramm des Abends eine Bühne.

Programm folgt in Kürze

Programm

OPIUM – Licht und Schatten der Zwanziger Jahre

Das neue Programm Opium des Duos Runge & Ammon reflektiert die kreative, dekadente und frivole Zeit der 1920er Jahre - eine Zeit des Aufbruchs, Aufruhrs, der Sinnlichkeit, Extase, Verführung aber auch mit einer Vorahnung der nahenden Katastrophe. Mit Musik u.a von Korngold, Mahler, Debussy, Bloch, Hindemith und Gershwin. Auch Filmmusik von Tom Tykwer’s  Serie internationa erfolgreiche TV serie “Babylon Berlin” haben die beiden Künstler selbst arrangiert und für die 2. 3. und 4. Staffel aufgenommen. Diese Stücke darf das Duo exklusiv aufführen.

George Gershwin (1897-1938)

Ein Amerikaner in Paris
(Arr. Jasha Heifetz/Runge & Ammon)

Kurt Weill (1900-1950)

Paraphrase über
Die Moritat von Mackie Messer aus der Dreigroschenoper und
Youkali - Tango Habanera aus der Oper Maria Galante
(Arr. Wolf Kerschek/Runge&Ammon)

Germaine Tailleferre (1892-1983)

Berceuse
(Arr. Runge&Ammon)

Ernest Bloch (1880-1959)

From Jewish Life B.54 für Cello und Klavier
Prayer
Supplication
Jewish Song

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)

Zwei Lieder
Schneeglöckchen op. 9 Nr. 1
Versuchung op. 18 Nr. 3

Paul Hindemith (1895-1963)

Capriccio für Cello und Klavier op.8

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

Blues aus der Violinsonate
(Arr. Runge&Ammon)

Tom Tykwer/Johnny Klimek:

Berlin Babylon - Suite
Allein
Ein Tag wie Gold
(Arr. Runge & Ammon)

Jacob Gadé (1879-1963)

Jalousie - Tango Concertante
(Arr. Runge & Ammon)

Änderungen vorbehalten.


Das Duo Runge & Ammon

das dieses Jahr sein 25-jähriges Bestehen feiert, entstand aus einer gemeinsamen Leidenschaft für kammermusikalische Grenzgänge um Jazz, Tango, Rock-, Theater- und Filmmusik. Die beiden Musiker gastieren regelmäßig sowohl in wichtigen Konzertserien und Festivals wie auch in Clubs in Europa, Asien, den USA und Südamerika.

2019, 2021 und 2022 lud der Regisseur Tom Tykwer das Duo ein, um die Filmmusik der preisgekrönten TV Serie BabylonBerlin einzuspielen. Ab 2024 gestalten Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon als ‚Artists in Residenz‘ beim Konzerthaus Berlin ihre eigene Konzertreihe.

Seit 2021 arbeitet das Duo exklusiv mit dem Label Berlin Classics/EDEL zusammen. Das erste Album ‚Revolutionary Icons’ stellt  Werke von Beethoven den revolutionären Ikonen der Rock-Popgeschichte wie Jimi Hendrix, Frank Zappa und David Bowie gegenüber. 2022 erschien ‚Baroque in Blue‘, einem Album, in dem Jazz und Barockmusik in Dialog treten und wurde als ‚Echter Coup‘ (Concerti) gefeiert. Für 2024 ist die Veröffentlichung des Albums ‚Opium‘ geplant, das die künstlerisch dichte Zeit der 1920er beleuchtet.

Eckart Runge, Violoncello

Er war dreißig Jahre lang war Cellist des Artemis Quartetts, mit dem er weltweit konzertierte und dessen charakteristische Profil durch alle Besetzungen prägte. Die Alben des Ensembles, u.a. die Beethoven Gesamteinspielung, wurden mehrfach mit dem Diapason d’Or, dem Grammophone Award und viermal mit dem ECH0-Klassik ausgezeichnet.

2019 entschloss sich Eckart Runge, eigene künstlerische Wege zu gehen und sich eigenen künstlerischen Projekten zu widmen.

Sein solistisches Debutalbum, die Ersteinspielung des jazzigen Cellokonzerts op. 85 von Nikolai Kapustin und das 1. Cellokonzert von Alfred Schnittke mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin wurde 2021 mit dem ‚Jahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik‘ ausgezeichnet. Bei der BASF Ludwigshafen sowie der Philharmonischen Gesellschaft Bremen wird Eckart Runge in den nächsten Spielzeiten als ‚Artists in Residence‘ verschieden Programme präsentieren und kuratieren.

2005-23 gab er als Professor an der Universität der Künste Berlin und an der Chapelle de la Reine Elisabeth in Brüssel seine Erfahrungen weiter. 2023 folgte er einem Ruf als Professor für Kammermusik an die Robert-Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf.

Eckart Runge spielt ein seltenes Cello der Brüder Hieronymus und Antonio Amati aus Cremona von 1595, das ihm als großzügige Leihgabe von Merito String Instrument Trust Wien zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

Jacques Ammon, Klavier

In Santiago de Chile als Kind deutsch-chilenischer Eltern geboren, machte Jacques Ammon bereits 1989 als 1. Preisträger des Internationalen Claudio Arrau Klavierwettbewerbs zum ersten Mal auf sich aufmerksam.

Neben dem Duo mit Eckart Runge spielt er regelmäßig mit dem Geiger Daniel Hope. Aus dieser Zusammenarbeit sind mehrere Alben beim Label Deutsche Grammophon entstanden.

Seit 2015 ist Jacques Ammon Professor für Klavier an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Felix - Mendelssohn - Bartholdy in Leipzig.